Owl Goingback earns top prize at 2019 Bram Stoker Awards

coyote rageOwl Goingback is having quite a year. In February, the Horror Writers Association announced he would receive its Lifetime Achievement Award. On April 18th, Goingback earned another prestigious award. His book Coyote Rage won the 2019 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Novel.

The Horror Writers Association live-streamed the 2019 Bram Stoker Awards on April 18th because of the coronavirus. The 40-minute event showcased the winners of the 12 writing categories as well as other awards.

“This year’s winners reflect a great showing of impressive works from a wide range of competitive finalists,” said HWA President John Palisano in an April 18th press release. “This year’s winners truly represent a broad spectrum of titles in the horror and dark fantasy. HWA members and awards juries have again shown objectivity and dedication to the selection process for outstanding works of literature, cinema, non-fiction, and poetry.”

Here’s the list of winners (author, title, publisher). For a complete list of nominees, visit the HWA website HERE.


Superior Achievement in a Novel: Owl Goingback, Coyote Rage, Independent Legions Publishing.

Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Sarah Read, The Bone Weaver’s Orchard, Trepidatio Publishing.

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: Nzondi, Oware Mosaic, Omnium Gatherum.

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Colleen Doran and Neil Gaiman; Neil Gaiman’s Snow, Glass, Apples; Dark Horse Books.

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: Victor LaValle; Up from Slavery; Weird Tales Magazine #363.

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: Gwendolyn Kiste, “The Eight People Who Murdered Me (Excerpt from Lucy Westenra’s Diary),” Nightmare Magazine, November 2019, Issue 86.

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: Paul Tremblay, Growing Things and Other Stories, William Morrow.

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Us, Monkeypaw Productions, Perfect World Pictures, Dentsu, Fuji Television Network, Universal Pictures

Superior Achievement in an Anthology: Ellen Datlow, Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories, Gallery/Saga Press.

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: Lisa Kröger and Melanie R. Anderson; Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction; Quirk Books.

Superior Achievement in Short Non-Fiction: Gwendolyn Kiste, “Magic, Madness, and Women Who Creep: The Power of Individuality in the Work of Charlotte Perkins Gilman,” Vastarien: A Literary Journal Vol. 2, Issue 1.

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Linda D. Addison and Alessandro Manzetti, The Place of Broken Things, Crystal Lake Publishing.

Other previously announced 2019 award winners participating in the live-stream event included:

HWA Lifetime Achievement Award: Owl Goingback and Thomas Ligotti.

Richard Laymon President’s Award: Rena Mason.

Silver Hammer Award: Leslie S. Klinger.

Mentor of the Year: Lee Murray.

Specialty Press Award: SST Publications.


3 thoughts on “Owl Goingback earns top prize at 2019 Bram Stoker Awards

  1. Pingback: Voting open for This Is Horror Awards 2019 – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  2. Pingback: Nominations announced for 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  3. Pingback: Sonora Taylor dominates inaugural Ladies of Horror Fiction Awards – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s