Sarah Read wins top honor at This Is Horror Awards 2019

After winning the 2019 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel in April, The Bone Weaver’s Orchard by Sarah Read added another honor in 2020, winning Novel of the Year at This Is Horror Awards 2019.

Released by Trepidatio Publishing in February 2019, Read’s debut is touted by Bird Box author Josh Malerman as “a thriller with class.”

Read’s Out of Water also finished runner-up in the Short Story Collection of the Year to Sefira and Other Betrayals by John Langan.

This Is Horror is one of the top sites specializing in horror fiction, news, and podcasts. 2020 marks the ninth year of This Is Horror Awards. The site announced winners and runners-up in nine categories on its August 19th podcast.

The runner-up for Novel of the Year was The Dark Game by Jonathan Janz.

The Pale White by Chad Lutzke won Novella of the Year. Runner-up was The Half-Freaks by Nicole Cushing.

Nox Pareidolia edited by Robert S. Wilson won Anthology of the Year. Runner-up was Echoes edited by Ellen Datlow. Wilson was also editor of the 2018 Anthology of the Year, Ashes and Entropy.

For the second consecutive year, Vastarien: A Literary Journal won Fiction Magazine of the Year. Runner-up was Dark Moon Digest.

Nightscape Press won Publisher of the Year. Runner-up was the previous year’s winner, Crystal Lake Publishing.

The NoSleep Podcast won Fiction Podcast of the Year for the second year in a row. Runner-up was The Magnus Archives.

Hollow Heart by Ben Eads
Cover Art of the Year

Also for the second straight year, Ladies of the Fright won Nonfiction Podcast of the Year. Runner-up was The Horror Show with Brian Keene.

Ben Baldwin won Cover Art of the Year for Hollow Heart by Ben Eads. Runner-up was Catrin Welz-Stein for This House of Wounds by Georgina Bruce.

You can listen to the podcast of This Is Horror Awards 2019 by clicking HERE.


Voting open for This Is Horror Awards 2019

Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

Sonora Taylor dominates inaugural Ladies of Horror Fiction Awards

Sarah Rose Etter earns top honor at 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards

Owl Goingback earns top prize at 2019 Bram Stoker Awards

2 thoughts on “Sarah Read wins top honor at This Is Horror Awards 2019

  1. Pingback: Voting for This Is Horror Awards 2020 open through May 22 – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s