Death’s Head Press earns most Splatterpunk Awards nominations again

For the second consecutive year, Death’s Head Press led the nominations for the Splatterpunk Awards. After debuting with six in 2020, the two-year-old publisher followed up with eight nominations for the 2021 Splatterpunk Awards, which were announced today. In their fourth year, the Splatterpunk Awards honor superior achievement for works published in the subgenres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror.

One of the keys to DHP’s success over the last year has been a critically acclaimed Splatter Western series. Half of Death’s Head’s nominations were titles from the eight-book (so far) series. Dust by Chris Miller and The Magpie Coffin by Wile E. Young are nominated for Best Novel. Red Station by Kenzie Jennings and The Night Silver River Run Red by Christine Morgan are nominated for Best Novella. The series has received more than 500 reviews on Amazon with an average review score of 4.4 out of 5 stars. In addition, Death’s Head Press also has a third Best Novel nomination with Pandemonium by Ryan Harding and Lucas Mangum.

With fourteen nominations in the past two years, Death’s Head Press is a leading force in the subgenres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. But they’re not the only one. Grindhouse Press consistently produces top-notch works with 10 nominations since the Splatterpunk Awards debuted in 2018. Blood Bound Books received four nominations in 2021, including three for Best Anthology.

This year, Death’s Head Press, Grindhouse Press, and Blood Bound Books are three of the 14 publishers represented by the 35 nominees in the five awards categories. That’s only one less than the 15 publishers that shared 31 nominations in 2020. The only major difference is one self-published work was nominated in 2020, while five received recognition in 2021. As far as trends, I’m not sure what that means, but it has to be encouraging for authors who market their own works.

As always, a huge thank-you goes to Wrath James White and Brian Keene for founding the Splatterpunk Awards and shining a light on the darkest corners of horror fiction. Also, to the publishers .. thank you. As I’ve written before, fans of extreme horror are lucky that these publishers are producing quality level content for us to read, because it’s not a huge moneymaker for most. Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror are niche markets at best, and for many publishers, it’s their passion for the subgenres that keep us stocked in quality reads.


Death’s Head Press, Triana lead nominations for 2021 Splatterpunk Awards

2020 Splatterpunk Awards dominated by four publishers

3 thoughts on “Death’s Head Press earns most Splatterpunk Awards nominations again

  1. Pingback: Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s