Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced

Samantha Kolesnik garnered two wins and Wile E. Young’s western won Best Novel at the fourth annual Splatterpunk Awards, according to a press release by founders Wrath James White and Brian Keene. Presented at KillerCon 2021 on August 21st, the Splatterpunk Awards honored superior achievement in the horror subgenres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror published in 2020.

Kolesnik won as an author and an editor. Kolesnik’s acclaimed debut, True Crime, won Best Novella, and the anthology of vacation horror she edited, titled Worst Laid Plans, won Best Anthology. In February, Worst Laid Plans also received a Bram Stoker Award nomination for Superior Achievement in an Anthology. Both books were published by Grindhouse Press.

Young’s The Magpie Coffin was the first in a series of Splatter Westerns published by Death’s Head Press. Four of those Splatter Westerns were nominated for Splatterpunk Awards, and The Magpie Coffin emerged victorious in the Best Novel category.

Other winners included Wesley Southard, Ronald Kelly, and John Skipp.

Southard’s “My Body” won Best Short Story. “My Body” appeared in the anthology Midnight in the Pentagram published by Silver Shamrock Publishing. Last year, Southard’s One for the Road won a Splatterpunk Award for Best Novella.

Also published by Silver Shamrock, Kelly’s The Essential Sick Stuff won Best Collection.

Skipp received the J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award joining previous recipients David J. Schow, David G. Barnett, and Edward Lee.

White and Keene also announced the formation of the Splatterpunk Awards Hall of Fame, a traveling memorial and showcase honoring the legends of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. The first class of Splatterpunk Awards Hall of Fame inductees will be Schow, Barnett, Lee, Skipp, Richard Laymon, Jack Ketchum, Charlee Jacob, John Pelan, and J.F. Gonzalez. The Hall of Fame will debut in Austin, Texas, next August, according to the press release.


Death’s Head Press, Triana lead nominations for 2021 Splatterpunk Awards

Death’s Head Press earns most Splatterpunk Awards nominations again

Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

Grindhouse Press authors win top honors at 2019 Splatterpunk Awards

Winners of 2018 Splatterpunk Awards

March’s DOUBLE FEATURE | True Crime & The F***ing Zombie Apocalypse

My Love of Splatterpunk

6 thoughts on “Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced

  1. Pingback: The Only Good Indians tops This Is Horror Awards 2020 – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  2. Pingback: 2022 Splatterpunk Awards nominees, Hall of Legends announced – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  3. Pingback: Triana, Harding win Best Novel at 2022 Splatterpunk Awards – The Official Website of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s