Voting for This Is Horror Awards 2020 open through May 22

This Is Horror Awards 2020 is stacked with names like Chuck Palahniuk, Stephen Graham Jones, Grady Hendrix, and Adam Nevill, but there’s also representation from talented up-and-comers like Samantha Kolesnik, the only nominee selected in both author and editor categories.

Voting for This Is Horror Awards 2020 is open through May 22. Email your top two choices in the nine categories to with the subject line “Awards 2020.” You can read the complete details HERE.

Fiction, magazines, publishers, podcasts, and cover art are among the categories in This Is Horror Awards 2020.

This Is Horror is one of the top sites specializing in horror fiction, news, and podcasts.

Here are the nominees for the 2020 awards:

Novel of the Year

  1. Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  2. The Invention of Sound by Chuck Palahniuk
  3. The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones
  4. The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix
  5. The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

Novella of the Year

  1. Crossroads by Laurel Hightower
  2. Ring Shout by P. Djèlí Clark
  3. The Worm and His Kings by Hailey Piper
  4. True Crime by Samantha Kolesnik
  5. We Need to Do Something by Max Booth III

Short Story Collection of the Year

  1. Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies by John Langan
  2. The Immeasurable Corpse of Nature by Christopher Slatsky
  3. Thin Places by Kay Chronister
  4. Velocities by Kathe Koja
  5. Wyrd and Other Derelictions by Adam Nevill

Anthology of the Year

  1. Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, edited by Zelda Knight and Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald
  2. Final Cuts: New Tales of Hollywood Horror and Other Spectacles, edited by Ellen Datlow
  3. Lullabies for Suffering: Tales of Addiction Horror, edited by Mark Matthews
  4. Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey
  5. Worst Laid Plans: An Anthology of Vacation Horror, edited by Samantha Kolesnik

Fiction Magazine of the Year

  1. Lightspeed Magazine
  2. Nightmare Magazine
  3. The Dark
  4. Uncanny Magazine
  5. Unnerving Magazine

Publisher of the Year

  1. Death’s Head Press
  2. Del Rey Books
  3. Silver Shamrock Publishing
  4. Undertow Publications
  5. Valancourt Books

Fiction Podcast of the Year

  1. Chilling Tales for Dark Nights
  2. Crypto-Z
  3. NIGHTLIGHT: A Horror Fiction Podcast
  4. The Other Stories (Hawk & Cleaver)
  5. Thirteen (Imaginary Comma)

Nonfiction Podcast of the Year

  1. Afro Horror
  2. Ghoulish
  3. Ink Heist
  4. Post Mortem with Mick Garris

Cover Art of the Year

  1. Matthew Revert for Antioch by Jessica Leonard
  2. Mike Davis for grotesquerie by Richard Gavin
  3. Mikio Murakami for The Best of Both Worlds by S.P. Miskowski
  4. Stephen Mackey for Thin Places by Kay Chronister
  5. Todd Keisling for Arterial Bloom, edited by Mercedes M. Yardley


Sarah Read wins top honor at This Is Horror Awards 2019

This Is Horror Awards 2017 winners announced

2 thoughts on “Voting for This Is Horror Awards 2020 open through May 22

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s