The Only Good Indians tops This Is Horror Awards 2020

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones continues receiving honors in 2021, winning Novel of the Year at the This Is Horror Awards 2020. The Only Good Indians also won the Novel categories at the 2020 Shirley Jackson Awards and the 2020 Bram Stoker Awards.

This Is Horror announced its 10th annual awards on September 6th. Click HERE for the complete list of winners and runners-up in the nine categories.

Jones is no stranger to the This Is Horror Awards. The Last Final Girl won the 2012 Novel of the Year, Mongrels was runner-up for the 2016 Novel of the Year, and Mapping the Interior won the 2017 Novella of the Year. After the People Lights Have Gone Off won the 2014 Short Story Collection of the Year, and “Interstate Love Affair” won the 2013 Short Fiction of the Year.

Here’s the list of winners in the other categories.

Novella of the Year: Crossroads by Laurel Hightower.

Short Story Collection of the Year: Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies by John Langan. This is Langan’s second consecutive year winning the category after Sefira and Other Betrayals won the 2019 award. Langan also won the 2016 Novel of the Year for The Fisherman.

Anthology of the Year: Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey. Murano previously finished runner-up for the 2016 award with D. Alexander Ward for the anthology Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories. Bailey previously finished runner-up for the 2012 award for the anthology Chiral Mad.

Fiction Magazine of the Year: Nightmare Magazine. The magazine previously won the 2014 award and finished runner-up for the 2016 award.

Publisher of the Year: Undertow Publications.

Fiction Podcast of the Year: The Other Stories by Hawk & Cleaver. This is the podcast’s first win after finishing runner-up for the 2016 award.

Nonfiction Podcast of the Year: Ink Heist.

Cover Art of the Year: Todd Keisling for Arterial Bloom, edited by Mercedes M. Yardley.

This Is Horror specializes in horror fiction publishing and features podcasts, book reviews, and news on its website.


Sarah Read wins top honor at This Is Horror Awards 2019

Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced

Stephen Graham Jones dominates 2020 Shirley Jackson Awards

Ladies of Horror Fiction announce 2020 award winners

Jones, Murray, and Waggoner lead 2020 Bram Stoker Awards

THE INVISIBLE MAN earns top honors at 2021 Fangoria Chainsaw Awards

One thought on “The Only Good Indians tops This Is Horror Awards 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s