Maberry, Murray lead nominations on final ballot of 2018 Bram Stoker Awards

HWA banner.jpg

Jonathan Maberry earned two nominations in novel categories, and Lee Murray received a pair of nods for short fiction and anthology to lead the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot, according to a press release by the Horror Writers Association on February 23.

“This year’s nominees demonstrate a continued lineup of quality work in the horror genre,” said Lisa Morton, president of the HWA, the premier organization for writers of horror and dark fantasy formed in 1985. “Our members and awards juries have again chosen truly outstanding works of literature, cinema, non-fiction, and poetry.”

Maberry’s supernatural thriller Glimpse is one of five titles up for Superior Achievement in a Novel, and his series starter Broken Lands is one of five titles up for Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel.

Murray earned dual nominations for her short story “Dead End Town” and for an anthology that she edited titled Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror.

The Bram Stoker Awards will be presented May 11 during the fourth annual StokerCon at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Here’s the complete list of nominees (last name, first name, title, publisher) announced by the HWA:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Katsu, Alma – The Hunger (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Maberry, Jonathan – Glimpse (St. Martin’s Press)

Malerman, Josh – Unbury Carol (Del Rey)

Stoker, Dacre and Barker, J.D. – Dracul (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Tremblay, Paul – The Cabin at the End of the World (William Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Fine, Julia – What Should Be Wild (Harper)

Grau, T.E. – I Am the River (Lethe Press)

Kiste, Gwendolyn – The Rust Maidens (Trepidatio Publishing)

Stage, Zoje – Baby Teeth (St. Martin’s Press)

Tremblay, Tony – The Moore House (Twisted Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Ireland, Justina – Dread Nation (Balzer + Bray)

Legrand, Claire – Sawkill Girls (Katherine Tegen Books)

Maberry, Jonathan – Broken Lands (Simon & Schuster)

Snyman, Monique – The Night Weaver (Gigi Publishing)

White, Kiersten – The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein (Delacorte Press)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Ahmed, Saladin – Abbott (BOOM! Studios)

Azzarello, Brian – Moonshine Vol. 2: Misery Train (Image Comics)

Bunn, Cullen – Bone Parish (BOOM! Studios)

LaValle, Victor – Victor LaValle’s Destroyer (BOOM! Studios)

Liu, Marjorie – Monstress Volume 3: Haven (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Bailey, Michael – “Our Children, Our Teachers” (Written Backwards)

Hill, Joe – “You Are Released” (Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales) (Scribner)

Malik, Usman T. – “Dead Lovers on Each Blade, Hung” (Nightmare Magazine Issue #74)

Mason, Rena – “The Devil’s Throat” (Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror) (Adrenaline Press)

Smith, Angela Yuriko – “Bitter Suites” (CreateSpace)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Landry, Jess – “Mutter” (Fantastic Tales of Terror) (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Murray, Lee – “Dead End Town” (Cthulhu Deep Down Under Volume 2) (IFWG Publishing International)

Neugebauer, Annie – “Glove Box” ( The Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine Volume 3, Issue 4-July 2018)

Taff, John F.D. – “A Winter’s Tale” (Little Black Spots) (Grey Matter Press)

Ward, Kyla Lee – “And in Her Eyes the City Drowned” (Weirdbook #39) (Wildside Press)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Files, Gemma – Spectral Evidence (Trepidatio Publishing)

Guignard, Eric J. – That Which Grows Wild (Cemetery Dance Publications)

Iglesias, Gabino – Coyote Songs (Broken River Books)

Snyder, Lucy A. – Garden of Eldritch Delights (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Waggoner, Tim – Dark and Distant Voices: A Story Collection (Nightscape Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Aster, Ari – Hereditary (PalmStar Media)

Averill, Meredith – The Haunting of Hill House: The Bent-Neck Lady, Episode 01:05 (Amblin Television, FlanaganFilm, Paramount Television)

Garland, Alex – Annihilation (DNA Films, Paramount Pictures, Scott Rudin Productions, Skydance Media)

Heisserer, Eric – Bird Box (Bluegrass Films, Chris Morgan Productions, Universal Pictures)

Woods, Bryan, Beck, Scott, and Krasinski, John – A Quiet Place (Platinum Dunes, Sunday Night)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Chambers, James, Grey, April, and Masterson, Robert – A New York State of Fright: Horror Stories from the Empire State (Hippocampus Press)

Datlow, Ellen – The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea (Night Shade Books)

Guignard, Eric J. – A World of Horror (Dark Moon Books)

Murray, Lee – Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror (Adrenaline Press)

Ward, D. Alexander – Lost Highways: Dark Fictions from the Road (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Connolly, John – Horror Express (PS Publishing)

Gambin, Lee – The Howling: Studies in the Horror Film (Centipede Press)

Ingham, Howard David – We Don’t Go Back: A Watcher’s Guide to Folk Horror (Room 207 Press)

Mynhardt, Joe and Johnson, Eugene – It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Wetmore Jr., Kevin J. – Uncovering Stranger Things: Essays on Eighties Nostalgia, Cynicism and Innocence in the Series (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Boston, Bruce – Artifacts (Independent Legions Publishing)

Cowen, David E. – Bleeding Saffron (Weasel Press)

Lynch, Donna – Witches (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Simon, Marge and Manzetti, Alessandro – War (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Tantlinger, Sara – The Devil’s Dreamland (Strangehouse Books)

Congratulations to all the nominees.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦


Bryan Smith leads nominations for Splatterpunk Awards

3 thoughts on “Maberry, Murray lead nominations on final ballot of 2018 Bram Stoker Awards

  1. Pingback: HEREDITARY dominates Fangoria 2019 Chainsaw Awards – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  2. Pingback: Bram Stoker Award nominees Katsu, Tremblay, Iglesias are Locus Awards finalists – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  3. Pingback: Tremblay wins 2018 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s