Tremblay wins 2018 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel

Cabin cover

Paul Tremblay notched his second Bram Stoker Award in four years for best novel during the fourth annual StokerCon in Grand Rapids, Michigan, on May 11th, according to a press release by the Horror Writers Association.

Tremblay’s The Cabin at the End of the World published by William Morrow won Superior Achievement in a Novel. Tremblay previously won the premier award in horror fiction for his 2015 novel A Head Full of Ghosts.

The complete list of 2018 Bram Stoker Award winners by category:

  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Gwendolyn Kiste, The Rust Maidens, Trepidatio Publishing
  • Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: Kiersten White, The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein, Delacorte Press
  • Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Victor LaValle, Victor LaValle’s Destroyer, BOOM! Studios
  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: Rena Mason, “The Devil’s Throat,” Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror, Adrenaline Press
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: Jess Landry, “Mutter,” Fantastic Tales of Terror, Crystal Lake Publishing
  • Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: Eric J. Guignard, That Which Grows Wild (Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: Meredith Averill, The Haunting of Hill House: “The Bent-Neck Lady,” Episode 01:05, Amblin Television, Flanagan Film, Paramount Television
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: Ellen Datlow, The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea, Night Shade Books
  • Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: Joe Mynhardt and Eugene Johnson, It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life, Crystal Lake Publishing
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Sara Tantlinger, The Devil’s Dreamland, Strangehouse Books
  • Specialty Press Award: Raw Dog Screaming Press, Jennifer Barnes and John Edward Lawson
  • Mentor of the Year Award: J.G. Faherty
  • Silver Hammer Award: Jess Landry for excellent service to the HWA
  • Richard Laymon President’s Award: Brad Hodson for excellent service to the HWA

The Bram Stoker Awards presentation was live-streamed online and will be available for viewing soon on the HWA Youtube channel, according to the HWA release.

Click here for a complete list of the 2018 nominees.

Click here for a list of past winners and nominees.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦


Bram Stoker Award nominees Katsu, Tremblay, Iglesias are Locus Awards finalists

Maberry, Murray lead nominations on final ballot of 2018 Bram Stoker Awards

Bryan Smith leads nominations for Splatterpunk Awards


3 thoughts on “Tremblay wins 2018 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel

  1. J.P. Choquette

    Okay…this is the fourth time that this author’s name has come across my path this week. Time to add one of his books to my TBR pile! Which would you recommend first, Lionel?

  2. The Cabin at the End of the World is the only one I’ve read, Ms. Choquette, but I loved it! If you like psychological suspense, it seems like an awesome start. A Head Full of Ghosts also won the Bram Stoker Award, and it’s on my TBR pile. It seems to be his most popular book among readers and critics. Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: 2019 Bram Stoker Award nominees announced – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s