Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

Christine Morgan and Wesley Southard won top honors for their books published by Deadite Press at the 2020 Splatterpunk Awards, according to a press release by award founders Wrath James White and Brian Keene.

The 2020 Splatterpunk Awards honored superior achievement in the literary sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror for works published in 2019. This is the third year of the award. Go to Keene’s website for the official press release HERE.

lakehouse infernal

Morgan won Best Novel for Lakehouse Infernal. In his introduction for the book, Edward Lee wrote, “Lakehouse Infernal is the coolest, ball-bustingest, most outrageous, and most entertaining horror novel you’re likely to find in a long time.”

Lee, by the way, received 2020’s J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors individuals who have contributed significantly to the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. Previous recipients are David J. Schow and David G. Barnett. White and Keene also announced that 2021’s J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award recipient will be author John Skipp.

Southard won Best Novella for One for the Road, a story about members of a heavy metal band who mysteriously find themselves in an abandoned settlement in the middle of the desert.

For the second year in a row, Ryan Harding won Best Short Story for “Angelbait,” one of thirty tales in The Big Book of Blasphemy, edited by Regina Garza Mitchell and David G. Barnett and published by Necro Publications. Harding’s “The Seacretor” won Best Short Story in 2019. This year’s win was Harding’s third Splatterpunk Award in three years. He shared a Best Novella win with Lee for Header 3 in 2018.

Bryan Smith won Best Collection for Dirty Rotten Hippies and Other Stories published by Grindhouse Press. It was Smith’s second Splatterpunk Award. He won Best Novella for Kill for Satan! in 2019.

And Hell Followed won Best Anthology. Edited by Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III and published by Death Head’s Press, And Hell Followed features sixteen tales reimagining the biblical apocalypse.


2020 Splatterpunk Awards dominated by four publishers

Christine Morgan leads list of Splatterpunk Awards nominees

Grindhouse Press authors win top honors at 2019 Splatterpunk Awards

Why I Love Chapter Forty-Two of THE GIRL NEXT DOOR

Winners of 2018 Splatterpunk Awards

My Love of Splatterpunk

One thought on “Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

  1. Pingback: Sarah Read wins top honor at This Is Horror Awards 2019 – The Official Blog of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s