Splatterpunk Awards accepting nominations through January 29th

The Night Stockers by Kristopher Triana and Ryan Harding won Best Novel at the 2022 Splatterpunk Awards.

Nominations for the 2023 Splatterpunk Awards are being extended through January 29th, according to a post by co-founders Brian Keene and Wrath James White at briankeene.com.

Only works published in 2022 are eligible for the sixth annual awards celebrating the best of extreme horror fiction.

Readers can email their recommendations to splatterpunkawards@gmail.com.

The deadline for the yearlong recommendation window is December 31st, but the usual public reminder in December never happened.

“In previous years, Wrath and myself usually put out a ‘last call’ reminder in December, so that people who may have forgotten to make recs could do so,” Keene wrote. “We also did this if there was a lull in recommendations from the public. This year, there was no lull. As a result, we dropped the ball and forgot to issue that reminder. Some members of the community expressed concern about that. For what it’s worth, we’re sorry. We’ve both had a lot of things going on, and we simply forgot to issue that reminder. However, given that readers sent in recommendations ALL YEAR LONG, we assumed the community was aware.

“Obviously, we were wrong about that,” Keene continued. “And we apologize for that. We would like to assure authors who expressed disappointment about this that there were indeed recommendations already made. And that is a very good thing. Six years into this process, that’s exactly what the community needs to see — that readers are recommending your work without you reminding them or drawing it to their attention.”

The Splatterpunk Awards debuted in 2018, and winners are typically announced in August during KillerCon in Austin, Texas.


Triana, Harding win Best Novel at 2022 Splatterpunk Awards

2022 Splatterpunk Awards nominees, Hall of Legends announced

Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced

Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

Grindhouse Press authors win top honors at 2019 Splatterpunk Awards

Why I Love Chapter 42 of THE GIRL NEXT DOOR

Winners of 2018 Splatterpunk Awards

My Love of Splatterpunk

2 thoughts on “Splatterpunk Awards accepting nominations through January 29th

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s