2022 Splatterpunk Awards nominees, Hall of Legends announced

The inaugural inductees into the Splatterpunk Hall of Legends were announced along with nominees for the 2022 Splatterpunk Awards by co-founders Wrath James White and Brian Keene on January 18.

The Magpie Coffin by Wile E. Young won Best Novel at last year’s Splatterpunk Awards.

The 2022 Splatterpunk Awards honor superior achievement in the literary subgenres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror fiction published in 2021. The awards were first presented in 2018.

Read the original press release on the 2022 nominees at briankeene.com.

The Hall of Legends inductees are Richard Laymon, Jack Ketchum, J. F. Gonzalez, Charlee Jacob, John Pelan, Gak, and David G. Barnett.

The recipient of this year’s J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award is Clive Barker. He joins previous honorees David J. Schow, David G. Barnett, Edward Lee, and John Skipp.

Here’s the complete list of nominees and publishers in the five categories of the 2022 Splatterpunk Awards.


Don’t Go To Wheelchair Camp by David Irons (Severed Press)

Trench Mouth by Christine Morgan (Madness Heart Press)

The Maddening by Carver Pike (Independently Published)

The Devoured And The Dead by Kristopher Rufty (Death’s Head Press)

The Night Stockers by Kristopher Triana and Ryan Harding (The Evil Cookie Publishing)

Left To You by Daniel J. Volpe (D&T Publishing)


Midnight In The City Of The Carrion Kid by James G. Carlson (Gloom House Publishing) 

Only The Stains Remain by Ross Jeffery (Cemetery Gates Media)

Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke by Eric LaRocca (Weirdpunk Books)

A Roll Of the Dice by Matt Shaw (Independently Published)

Sacrament by Steve Stred (Black Void Publishing)

Talia by Daniel J. Volpe (Independently Published)


“The Martini Club” by Aron Beauregard (from Beyond Reform, Aron Beauregard Horror)

“Fireflies and Apple Pies” by Thomas R. Clark (from The God Provides, St. Rooster Books)

“Sun Poison” by Stephen Kozeniewski (from Battered, Broken Bodies, Independently Published)

“Start Today” by Justin Lutz (from Teenage Grave, Filthy Loot)

“Abigail” by Daemon Manx (Terror Tract Publishing)

“Next Best Baker” by Jeff Strand (from Baker’s Dozen, Uncomfortably Dark)


Beyond Reform by Jon Athan, Aron Beauregard, and Jasper Bark (Aron Beauregard Horror)

Black Tongue And Other Anomalies by Richard Beauchamp (D&T Publishing)

Sinister Mix by Brian Bowyer (Independently Published)

Shattered Skies by Chris Miller (Death’s Head Press)

Twisted Tainted Tales by Janine Pipe (Pipe Screams Press)

May Cause Ocular Bleeding by Nikolas P. Robinson (Independently Published)


Body Shocks edited by Ellen Datlow (Tachyon Publications)

Between A Spider’s Eyes edited by River Dixon (Potter’s Grove Press)

Bludgeon Tools edited by K. Trap Jones (The Evil Cookie Publishing)

Gorefest edited by K. Trap Jones (The Evil Cookie Publishing)

Baker’s Dozen edited by Candace Nola (Uncomfortably Dark)

Battered, Broken Bodies edited by Matt Shaw (Independently Published)


Kolesnik wins two Splatterpunk Awards at fourth annual event; Hall of Fame announced

Deadite Press authors Morgan, Southard among winners at 2020 Splatterpunk Awards

Grindhouse Press authors win top honors at 2019 Splatterpunk Awards

Winners of 2018 Splatterpunk Awards

My Love of Splatterpunk

6 thoughts on “2022 Splatterpunk Awards nominees, Hall of Legends announced

  1. Pingback: Triana, Harding win Best Novel at 2022 Splatterpunk Awards – The Official Website of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  2. Pingback: Splatterpunk Awards accepting nominations through January 29th – The Official Website of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  3. Pingback: Lee, Nelson score multiple nominations for 2023 Splatterpunk Awards – The Official Website of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

  4. Pingback: Splatterpunk Awards: The Complete List  – The Official Website of Horror and Fantasy Writer Lionel Ray Green

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s